Happy Father’s Day to Dreams Come True

Chasten Glezman Buttigieg
2 min readJun 18, 2023

You are so, so wanted and loved and celebrated. I will always do my best to make sure you know that.

You were sleeping when we met, wrapped snugly in a hospital swaddle. The premie cap was almost too big for your little head. Rocking you, I watched as you shifted and snuggled into the crook of my arm as we sat in happy, tear-filled silence.

I always knew I wanted to be a dad. For so long, that dream seemed like an impossible one.

Then one day I stood in a hospital nursery and held you. All four pounds of you. And Papa held your brother as we stared at you both in amazement. I’m a man of many words, but your little hand wrapped around my pinky took them all away. I loved you from the moment I saw you.

We waited for you for what seemed like forever and then there you both were in a flash. Our lives upended in an instant. Everything brought into focus. Everything shattered and somehow made whole.

I was never a morning person, and now I can’t wait to see you when you awake. Even at 5am. You’re so funny when you wake up giggling and singing. And manipulative! In the best way. Like when you tell me to “sit, dada!” as you bring me a book and demand we read it together. I’d read to you all day if you’d let me. But you won’t, because there are bubbles and birds and airplanes “owside” we have to see. And “big bus” and firetrucks to wave at. You’ve painted the world new colors with every adventure we embark on. Every sound is new. Every leaf you pick up, every bird you point out, every stranger you wave at reminds me how special being in this world is. A world I was so convinced I had to hide from. A world I never thought I’d get to love you in.

You are so, so wanted and loved and celebrated. I will always do my best to make sure you know that.

I love being your Dada. I am so lucky to be your Dada. And I love getting to be your Dada with Papa at my side.

--

--

Chasten Glezman Buttigieg

Husband, father, teacher, advocate, and bestselling author of "I Have Something to Tell You." YA version out now and on tour.